Board of Directors

Mater Education’s Board of Directors is a diverse and dedicated group of professionals, with a range of experience and expertise to lead and govern Mater Education, today and into the future.

Professor Catherine Turner—Director

Professor Turner was appointed as a non-executive Director on 1 January 2016. Professor Turner began her career at Mater, graduating in 1984 with the Mother Alban Memorial Award for Excellence in Nursing. Professor Turner is a non-executive Director on the Mater Group Board and the Mater Research Board.

Professor Turner has qualifications in nursing, population health and education. She has worked as a clinical nurse, epidemiologist and has held senior appointments in the tertiary education and government sectors since 1992, including a Ministerial appointment as Assistant Commissioner (Nursing) of the former Health Quality and Complaints Commission Queensland (HQCC) 2011-2014.

Professor Turner was a Fulbright Scholar at Harvard University and a recipient of a National Health & Medical Research Fellowship. She established the Schools of Nursing and Midwifery at Australian Catholic University and The University of Queensland and was Head of School at UQ 2007-2014. She is the recipient of Excellence in Teaching Awards, a distinguished alumni Award and has published more than 145 peer reviewed publications. Professor Turner is now the inaugural Dean of the College of Nursing and Midwifery, Charles Darwin University.

In 2017 Professor Turner was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for her significant contribution to the nursing profession, specifically through research into practice, population health and higher education.